This post is one of a continuing series to showcase some of the special objects we have in the Holyhead Maritime Museum’s collection.
One of the museum’s most valued items is an original oil painting from 1828 completed by James Sparrow, who at that time was a customs official at Holyhead and also a long standing friend and mentor of Captain John Macgregor Skinner RN, the main subject of the painting.
The oil painting is of Stanley House, Captain’s Skinner’s residence. It was said that Sparrow’s original intention was to portray several humorous incidents concerning Skinner himself. However, following the captain’s untimely death in 1832, the artist’s intentions changed and he decided to fill much of the foreground to include several of his friends and a number of recipients of his charity. Captain Skinner can be seen on his bay horse in the centre of the painting offering charity to one of Holyhead’s poor.
Not shown in the above image is the gilded frame where James Sparrow inscribed the names of all the individuals depicted in the painting. It is not only a special work of art but also a valuable historical and social record of Holyhead at that time.
Of all the sailing packet commanders who carried the mails between Holyhead and Dublin, it may be argued that American born, John Macgregor Skinner is probably the most remembered. Popular with the social elite and renowned for his boundless acts of charity, there is no wonder that an obelisk, paid for by public subscription, was erected on Alltran Rock, above the Holyhead Harbour, in his memory.
Captain Skinner was an accomplished Packet Captain, who in 1821 had the honour of carrying KIng George IV to Ireland on his ship, Lightening. Refusing a knighthood from the King, he graciously accepted a promotion to RN Commander. He had, during his service with the Royal Navy, lost part of his right arm and was further disadvantaged by the loss of sight in one eye. Despite this he served as a distinguished Packet Captain for more than 30 years at Holyhead until he was sadly washed overboard from his ship The Escape in 1832. His loss was greatly felt by the people of his adoptive town.
Contributed by Peter Scott Roberts, author of the book – ‘The Ancestry, Life and Times of Commander John Macgregor Skinner RN’.
The oil painting and other artefacts that once belonged to Captain Skinner were kindly donated to the museum by Mrs. Kathleen Hughes of Birmingham. They are on display in the museum’s main gallery.
© Holyhead Maritime Museum
This series of posts is to showcase items from the museum’s collection and to support the ‘Ports, Past and Present’ project that features and promotes five ports of the Irish Sea connecting Wales with Ireland – Rosslare, Dublin Port, Holyhead, Fishguard and Pembroke. More information here – https://portspastpresent.eu/